Surroundings

Hotel Val Sinestra is connected to the picturesque mountain village Sent by a six-kilometres-long mountain road. Most houses have been built in the Engadine style, which means thick walls, small windows, bow-windows, a large arched front door and stables underneath the house. The facades are often decorated with “sgraffito”, a special scratch technique used to apply sayings and symbols.

In the early 18th century, when there was a lot of poverty, many locals flocked to Italy to try their luck there as confectioners or coffee shop owners. The Italian influence that the “Zückerbäcker” brought back home is still visible in Engadine houses: the so-called Senter Giebel (the onion shaped part in the gable) and the classic palazzi are silent witnesses of this time.

The next (larger) village along is Scuol, the capital of the lower Engadine. It offers the possibility of shopping, restaurants, swimming pools, train connections, cable cars and a spa.

The lower Engadine is a mountain area bordering Italy and Austria, surrounded by the Swiss Dolomites and the Silvretta mountains.

The isolated location is one of the reasons that the centuries old Roman language is still the official language here. Thankfully it isn’t necessary that you speak this: most people speak German very well. What is helpful to know is that the most common greeting here is “Allegra”, which literally means “be happy”.

The seasons

The Engadine is among Switzerland’s areas with the least rain fall with clear skies so that you can enjoy the sun, the views and the stars without obstacles!

Seasons can vary in the mountains: In the valley it can already be summer but higher up in the mountains spring flowers still bloom. And when the mountain peaks are still covered in winter snow, are the alp fields already in full bloom. And when the larch trees start colouring golden and yellow, are those peaks already covered in fresh snow again!

Spring (mid April – end of June)

Sometimes there’s still some snow from the previous winter, but it can already get quite warm. The first spring flowers bloom, the alp marmots stick their heads out of the ground and you have everything to yourself in the quiet valleys. An ideal time for those looking for some peace and quiet and don’t want to do very challenging or high walks. In June the fields look like massive flower arrangements and the Val Sinestra itself is known for its many different types of orchids.

Summer (July – mid September)

When the fields have been mown and the cattle is in the fields, it is time for the bigger mountain tours. Due to the heights in the Lower Engadine, which vary from 1100 to 3400 meters, are the temperatures pleasant which are ideal for swimming, walking or mountain biking.

Autumn (mid September – end of October)

Autumn presents itself in an array of beautiful colours, the larch trees become golden yellow and the leaves on trees and mountains become a deep red. The sky is mostly blue and the mountain peaks white. As long as there’s no fresh snow fall, an ideal time for mountain walks. It’s not surprising that so many Swiss people go on holiday in their own country, in the Engadine!

Winter (mid December – end of March)

The First snow often comes in November, and in January and February it is really winter with temperatures far below zero. Those that want to enjoy a romantic, white Christmas or New years’ eve, have come to the right place. In February conditions are still excellent for cross country skiing and in March it’s often possible to sunbathe in just your t-shirt by the ski slopes. A winter holiday in the mountains mostly means fresh air and lots of sun light.

To the top of the page

Umgebung


Allegra im Engadin!

Die Umgebung

Das Hotel Val Sinestra ist durch einen sechs Kilometer langen Bergweg mit dem pittoresken Dorf Sent verbunden. Die meisten Häuser im Dorf sind im Engadiner Stil gebaut, mit dicken Mauern, kleinen Fenstern, Erkern, grossen Bodentüren und einem Stall unterhalb der Wohnräume. Die Fassaden sind oft mit Sgraffito, einer speziellen Einritztechnik, verziert und mit Sprüchen und Bildern versehen.

Am Anfang des 18. Jahrhunderts, als hier grosse Armut herrschte, suchten viele Engadiner in Italien ihr Glück als Zuckerbäcker oder Kaffeehausbesitzer. Den italienischen Einfluss nahmen die Zuckerbäcker mit zurück in die Heimat und der spiegelt sich wieder erkennbar an den Häusern in Sent. Der sogenannte Senter Giebel (ein zwiebelförmiger Ausbau) und die im klassischen Palazzi-Stil gebauten Häuser sind Zeugen davon.

Das nächste grössere Dorf Scuol, der Hauptort des Unterengadins, bietet Ihnen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Restaurants, Schwimmbäder, Zugverbindungen, eine Bergbahn und ein Kurbad.

Das Unterengadin ist eine alpine Landschaft, die an Österreich und Italien grenzt, umgeben von den Engadiner Dolomiten und der Silvretta Gruppe.

Die isolierte Lage hat u.a. dazu beigetragen, dass auch heute noch das Rätoromanisch die Hauptsprache der Täler ist. Allerdings brauchen Sie diese Sprache nicht zu sprechen. Die meisten Einwohner reden auch Deutsch. Den Gruss „Allegra“ sollten Sie sich allerdings angewöhnen, nicht zuletzt weil er „Freue dich“ bedeutet.

Die Jahreszeiten

Das Engadin gehört zu den niederschlagsärmsten Regionen der Schweiz, mit einem blauen Himmel und freier Sicht auf Sonne und Sterne.

Die Jahreszeiten in den Bergen überschneiden sich. So kann es sein, dass im Tal bereits Sommer ist, auf dem Berg gerade die Frühjahrsblumen blühen und die Gipfel noch mit dem Schnee vom letzten Winter bedeckt sind. Oder wenn die Lärchen im Herbst ihr goldgelbes Kleid tragen, kann es sein, dass im Hochgebirge schon Neuschnee liegt.

Frühling (Mitte April bis Ende Juni)

Manchmal liegt noch der Schnee des vergangenen Winters, aber es kann auch schon sehr warm werden. Die ersten Frühlingsblumen blühen, die Murmeltiere erwachen aus ihrem Winterschlaf, und der Wanderer hat das Reich in den stillen Tälern für sich allein. Eine ideale Zeit für alle, welche die Ruhe lieben und nicht all zu hohe und schwierige Wanderungen unternehmen möchten.

Im Juni sind die Alpweiden wie wunderschöne bunte Blumensträusse, und im Val Sinestra sind verschiedene seltene Orchideenarten zu finden.

Sommer (Juli bis Mitte September)

Wenn die Weiden gemäht sind und das Vieh hoch oben auf den Almen grast, ist es die Zeit für grössere Bergtouren. Dank der Hochlage des Unterengadins (1100 bis 3400 Meter) herrschen immer angenehme Temperaturen. Ideal sowohl für Wanderer als auch Mountainbiker.

Herbst (Mitte September bis Ende Oktober)

Der Herbst zeigt sich mit der schönsten Farbenpracht, die Lärchenwälder wechseln von Orange nach Goldgelb, die Laubbäume in den Wäldern sind zum Teil dunkelrot, der Himmel zeigt sich tiefblau und die Gipfel schimmern weiss. Solange noch kein Neuschnee fällt, ist es eine ideale Zeit für Bergtouren. Kein Wunder, dass viele Schweizer in dieser Jahreszeit im Engadin ihre Ferien geniessen.

Winter (Mitte Dezember bis Ende März)

Oft fällt bereits im November Schnee, aber im Dezember und im Januar ist es echter Winter mit Temperaturen weit unter dem Gefrierpunkt. Wer romantische, weisse Weihnachten oder Silvester im Schnee erleben will, ist bei uns an der richtigen Adresse. Im Februar kann unter perfekten Bedingungen Wintersport betrieben werden, und im März können Sie bereits im T-Shirt am Pistenrand Sonne tanken. . .

Winterferien in den Bergen bedeutet frische Luft und Sonnenlicht tanken.

To the top of the page