Surroundings

Hotel Val Sinestra is connected to the picturesque mountain village Sent by a six-kilometres-long mountain road. Most houses have been built in the Engadine style, which means thick walls, small windows, bow-windows, a large arched front door and stables underneath the house. The facades are often decorated with “sgraffito”, a special scratch technique used to apply sayings and symbols.

In the early 18th century, when there was a lot of poverty, many locals flocked to Italy to try their luck there as confectioners or coffee shop owners. The Italian influence that the “Zückerbäcker” brought back home is still visible in Engadine houses: the so-called Senter Giebel (the onion shaped part in the gable) and the classic palazzi are silent witnesses of this time.

The next (larger) village along is Scuol, the capital of the lower Engadine. It offers the possibility of shopping, restaurants, swimming pools, train connections, cable cars and a spa.

The lower Engadine is a mountain area bordering Italy and Austria, surrounded by the Swiss Dolomites and the Silvretta mountains.

The isolated location is one of the reasons that the centuries old Roman language is still the official language here. Thankfully it isn’t necessary that you speak this: most people speak German very well. What is helpful to know is that the most common greeting here is “Allegra”, which literally means “be happy”.

The seasons

The Engadine is among Switzerland’s areas with the least rain fall with clear skies so that you can enjoy the sun, the views and the stars without obstacles!

Seasons can vary in the mountains: In the valley it can already be summer but higher up in the mountains spring flowers still bloom. And when the mountain peaks are still covered in winter snow, are the alp fields already in full bloom. And when the larch trees start colouring golden and yellow, are those peaks already covered in fresh snow again!

Spring (mid April – end of June)

Sometimes there’s still some snow from the previous winter, but it can already get quite warm. The first spring flowers bloom, the alp marmots stick their heads out of the ground and you have everything to yourself in the quiet valleys. An ideal time for those looking for some peace and quiet and don’t want to do very challenging or high walks. In June the fields look like massive flower arrangements and the Val Sinestra itself is known for its many different types of orchids.

Summer (July – mid September)

When the fields have been mown and the cattle is in the fields, it is time for the bigger mountain tours. Due to the heights in the Lower Engadine, which vary from 1100 to 3400 meters, are the temperatures pleasant which are ideal for swimming, walking or mountain biking.

Autumn (mid September – end of October)

Autumn presents itself in an array of beautiful colours, the larch trees become golden yellow and the leaves on trees and mountains become a deep red. The sky is mostly blue and the mountain peaks white. As long as there’s no fresh snow fall, an ideal time for mountain walks. It’s not surprising that so many Swiss people go on holiday in their own country, in the Engadine!

Winter (mid December – end of March)

The First snow often comes in November, and in January and February it is really winter with temperatures far below zero. Those that want to enjoy a romantic, white Christmas or New years’ eve, have come to the right place. In February conditions are still excellent for cross country skiing and in March it’s often possible to sunbathe in just your t-shirt by the ski slopes. A winter holiday in the mountains mostly means fresh air and lots of sun light.

To the top of the page

Les environs


Allegra en Engadine!

Les environs

L’hôtel Val Sinestra est relié au village pittoresque de Sent par un chemin de montagne d’une longueur de six kilomètres. La plupart des maisons du village ont été construites dans le style de l’Engadine, avec des murs épais, petites fenêtres, voûtes, grandes portes d’entrée et étables sous la maison. Les façades sont souvent pourvues de sgraffites, une technique de gravure spéciale, de dictons et d’images.

Au début du 18e siècle, lorsqu’une grande pauvreté régnait ici, une multitude d’Engadinois tentaient leur chance en Italie en tant que confiseurs ou propriétaires de cafés. Les confiseurs ont amené l’influence italienne au pays. Elle se reflète dans les maisons de Sent. Le dit pignon de Sent (faîtage en forme de bulbe) et les maisons construites dans le style de palais classique en témoignent.

Le plus grand village des environs Scuol, la capitale de la Basse Engadine, offre une multitude de possibilités de shopping, restaurants, piscines, trains, une télécabine et un bain thermal.

La Basse Engadine est une région alpine, frontalière de l’Autriche et de l’Italie, entourée des Dolomites engadinoises et du massif de la Silvretta.

L’emplacement isolé a entre autre contribué au maintien du romanche, la langue principale dans les vallées. Il n’est toutefois pas nécessaire que vous parliez cette langue. La plupart des habitants parlent également l’allemand. Cependant, il serait judicieux de vous habituer à l’expression „Allegra“ qui signifie en fin de compte „réjouis-toi“.

Les saisons

L’Engadine fait partie des régions suisses avec peu de précipitations, un ciel bleu acier et une magnifique vue vers le soleil et les étoiles.

Les saisons se croisent et s’enchaînent en montagne. Il se peut que dans la vallée c’est déjà l’été pendant qu’en montagne les fleurs printanières commencent à fleurir et les sommets sont encore couverts de neige de l’hiver dernier. Ou lorsque les mélèzes rayonnent par leur robe dorée, il se peut qu’il y ait déjà de la neige fraîche en haute montagne.

Printemps (mi-avril à fin juin)

Parfois il y a encore de la neige de l’hiver dernier et parfois il peut déjà faire assez chaud. Les premières fleurs printanières fleurissent, les marmottes se réveillent après leur hibernation, et le randonneur trouve son bonheur dans les vallées tranquilles. Une saison idéale pour tous ceux qui aiment le calme et qui désirent faire des randonnées faciles et tranquilles.

En juin, les champs ressemblent à de magnifiques bouquets de fleurs multicolores. Le Val Sinestra est connu pour ses nombreuses espèces d’orchidées rares.

Été (juillet à mi-septembre)

Lorsque les prés sont fauchés et le bétail broute sur les alpages, il est temps d’entreprendre de plus grandes randonnées. Grâce à la situation de la Basse Engadine (1100 à 3400 mètres), les températures sont toujours agréables, autant pour les randonneurs que pour les vététistes.

Automne (mi-septembre à fin octobre)

L’automne se montre par sa magnificence de couleurs, les forêts de mélèzes changent d’orange à jaune dorée, les feuillus dans les forêts sont partiellement rouges foncés, le ciel est d’un bleu foncé et les sommets sont blancs étincelants. Pendant qu’il n’y a pas encore de neige fraîche, c’est le moment idéal pour des excursions en montagne. Ce n’est pas étonnant que bon nombre de Suisses savourent leurs vacances en Engadine pendant cette période de l’année.

Hiver (mi-décembre à fin mars)

Souvent la neige tombe déjà en novembre, mais le véritable hiver se pointe en décembre et en janvier, avec des températures bien en deça de 0°. Chez nous, vous êtes à la bonne adresse si vous désirer vivre un Noël blanc ou la Saint Sylvestre dans la neige. En février, les conditions sont parfaites pour la pratique des sports d’hiver, puis en mars, vous pouvez déjà faire le plein de soleil en t-shirt au bord des pistes …

Les vacances d’hiver en montagne sont synonymes d’air pur et de rayonnement solaire.